Traditional vs. Mineral vs. Airbrush Makeup

There are several different types of makeup available today.  But what might be good for everyday, might not be good for the camera and vice versa.  Personally, I have worked with all three types of makeup, and I have my preference.  However, this does not mean that the others are “bad.” It just means that, at the moment, I choose to use one over the other two for my own reasons.  Also, keep in mind that sometimes the makeup is only as good as the artist applying it.  Experts can work wonders with lesser-quality products while unskilled novices can make a mess of the highest quality makeup.  Let me make myself clear though before I continue: This article is based solely on my opinion and experience. With that said, I will now talk about the different types of makeup…

* Traditional Makeup: By “Traditional,” I mean liquid foundation.  This type of makeup is my preference and what I currently use whether it be for a wedding, a special event, a photoshoot, etc.  The reason I prefer liquid foundation is because I feel that it has the most versatility.  I can mix shades to get a perfect blend for my client.  I can use it as sparingly as I want for a sheer look, or I can build it up for more of a full-coverage effect.  I can use it where I need it and blend it out without having to cover the whole face.  I feel that this type of makeup gives me the most control.

* Mineral Makeup: As I said, some makeups that work great for everyday, do not work so well with the camera.  Mineral makeup is one of those types of makeup.  The reason being is that it has a naturally occurring SPF in it.  And sunblock reflects light.  So when the camera flashes, the mineral makeup reflects it, making the face look lighter than the body.  This can often explain why women’s faces look too light in pictures – it’s because their makeup probably has an SPF in it.  However, mineral makeup is great for everyday use because it’s all-natural, so it’s great for sensitive, acne-prone skin and won’t clog your pores.  But while I personally love mineral makeup and use it as my everyday makeup, I do not use it professionally.  They tend to be too reflective and some brands often look chalky and cakey.

* Airbrush Makeup: Awww…airbrush makeup – it has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it? Airbrush makeup intends to give the same effect that digital airbrushing does on the computer.  However, it doesn’t exactly work the same way.  Yes, airbrush makeup gives a light-weight, yet full, matte coverage.  It’s also extremely long-wearing, quick to apply and transfer-resistant.  However, it’s also extremely quick drying, which doesn’t leave a lot of time to work with it or make any corrections.  Also, even though it’s transfer-resistant, it’s not waterproof.  If it gets wet, it will streak, and it’s not easy to fix.  And it’s definitely not meant to be used everyday as it can easily clog pores.  So even though you want to use airbrush makeup for one day (your wedding day), do you want to have a break out during your honeymoon? Probably not.  I choose not to use it though because I don’t like the fact that I don’t have that much control with it.  However, airbrush makeup can give a beautiful effect if it’s used properly.

With all of that said, it’s up to the individual makeup artist which makeup they use, but now you know what makeup I and why I use it.

Leave a Reply

